

WINNERS FOR 2023 NATIONAL STUDENT PRODUCTION AWARDS ANNOUNCED

NATIONAL ACADEMY OF TELEVISION ARTS & SCIENCES FOUNDATION

NEW YORK, February 1, 2024 - Winners of the 8th Annual National Student Production Awards were annual today during a virtual ceremony presented by The Foundation of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS). The competition recognizes talented high school students from across the country.

"The highly talented nominees represented here are the future of our business," said Adam Sharp, President & CEO, NATAS. "Highlighting their work and encouraging their pursuit of excellence is one of the primary mandates of our Foundation. Thanks to the hardworking advisors and teachers for helping shape the craft of these young journalists, writers, producers and directors."

This year, students from over 120 schools were represented in the competition having previously been selected as winners in one of the NATAS Regional Chapter competitions.

"This year's student content producers impressed. They are truly the best of the best," said Doug Mummert, Chairman of the NATAS Foundation. "From coast to coast, the young journalists and budding filmmakers continue to up their game each year, shining a light in their respective communities."

The award winners were announced by Elle Duncan, ESPN; Eric Bauza, Voice Actor; Walker Scobell, Leah Sava Jeffries and Aryan Simhadri, "Percy Jackson and the Olympians;" Terry O'Reilly, NATAS Chair, Nathan Hale Williams, Producer/Director/Writer, Danielle Mannion, NATAS Education Chair, and Selina Wang, ABC News. Recipients were announced via a web stream produced by NATAS. This and all NATAS ceremonies are available on NATAS' dedicated viewing platform powered by Vimeo, available on the web at Watch. The Emmys. TV and via The Emmys® apps for iOS, tvOS, Android, FireTV, Roku and Samsung TV (full list at apps. the emmys. tv).

About NATAS

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, and Daytime television programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of more than 18,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the United States Beyond awards, NATAS provides extensive educational programs through its Foundation, including regional and national scholarships and Student Production Awards.

NATAS PRESS CONTACTS

SMITHHOUSE for NATAS – <u>NATAS@smithhousestrategy.com</u> Press LA - Harlan Boll, <u>harlan@bhbpr.com</u>

NATAS EDUCATION CHAIR

Danielle Mannion, studentawards@emmyonline.tv

Social Media

NATAS Website: https://TheEmmys.tv/

NATAS/National Student Production Awards Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/natas_spa

2023 National Student Production Awards Winners

Newscast

CPTV News QuickCUT for January 20, 2023, Crown Point High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter)

Christopher Gloff, Madeline Degenhart, Eli Lane, Hailey Lloyd Brent Barber, Chris Gloff, Advisors

News Report - Serious News

False School Threats on the Rise in the U.S., Crown Point High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter)

Christopher Gloff

Brent Barber, Chris Gloff, Advisors

News Report - Light News

Knock 'Em Out, Rockford High School (Michigan Chapter)

Natalie Allshouse, Mackenzie Davison, McKanna Will, Emily Pittman Kris De Young, Advisor

Multimedia Journalist (MMJ) or Video Essay

Bayan Yunis Art Awards, Carroll High School (Central Great Lakes Chapter)

Zoi Garwood

Bob Johnston, Advisor

Coffee Cave, Buchanan High School (San Francisco/Northern California Chapter)

Taylor Brunzell

Daniel Pearce, Advisor

Non-Fiction - Short Form or Long Form

End the Distraction, Gahanna Lincoln High School (Ohio Valley Chapter)

Delaney Rossette, Katrina Markle, Sebastian Tedoco, Pa'shence DeRamus, Kenzie Laviolette, Lucas LeMay, Charlie Singleton, Lex Radde, Caleb Triplett Mark Lowrie, Advisor

Public Affairs/Community Service

The Beat Goes On , Gahanna Lincoln High School (Ohio Valley Chapter)

Jillian Sanders, Mia Sammons Mark Lowrie, Advisor

Arts/Entertainment/Cultural Affairs

Joey: In the Limelight, Glenbrook South High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter)

Hannah Han Schuberth, Jack Conlon, Ewan MacLean, Zidan Raab, Joey Hitzeman Julie Benca, Advisor

Magazine Program or Lifestyle Content

The Voyage October Episode, Christopher Columbus High School (Suncoast Chapter)

Sebastian Broche, Alexis Vivanco, Jason Fernandez

Omar Delgado, Christina Insua, Advisors

Music Video

Take on Me, Granite Bay High School (San Francisco/Northern California Chapter)

Alex Carevic, Sean Medvecki Zachary Weidkamp, Advisor

Fiction - Short Form

Steps, St. John High School (Heartland Chapter)

Mackenzie Hacker Mac Knight, Advisor

Fiction - Long Form

The Whisper House, Anderson High School (Ohio Valley Chapter)

Devin Lands, Sydney Steinau, Reid Bhate, Kane Breen, Avery Shields, Claire Wagner, Nicholas Lamkin, Chrisanthi Burch, Finn Connolly

Chad Weddle, Advisor

Sports Story or Segment

More Than a Game: Jay'len Flowers, Davison High School (Michigan Chapter)

Camy Aboneaaj Randall Scott, Advisor

Sports Program

The Ship October Episode, Christopher Columbus High School (Suncoast Chapter)

Daniel Rossi-Montero, Lucas Delgado Omar Delgado, Christina Insua, Advisors

Live Sporting Event/Game

Boys' Basketball vs. Clarkston Livestream, Pullman High School (Northwest Chapter)

Beck Meisel, Karson Wieser, Amelia Cobos, Lukas Wexler, Lacie Sines, Leon Lange, Marissa Carper, Naomi Carter, Evan French, Trevor Deeds, Zachary Dillman, Benjamin Campbell, Blake Dobbins, Brendan Doumit

Robert Winchell, Advisor

Public Service Announcement (PSA)

I Blame COVID For That, Christopher Columbus High School (Suncoast Chapter)

Adrian Morgade, Christopher Gonzalez, Lucas Figueroa, Lucas Batalla, Nicholas Dovales *Omar Delgado, Christina Insua, Advisors*

Commercial

LEGO - The Purrfect House, Lyons Township High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter)

Ben Cunin Alvarado Bill Allan, Advisor

Animation/Graphics/Special Effects

Trials of Twelve, Christopher Columbus High School (Suncoast Chapter)

Aiden Cuervo

Rafael Diaz. David Ulloa. Advisors

Audio/Sound

Beyond the Darkness, Dearborn High School (Michigan Chapter)

Hassan Almaliki, Hussein Almaliki, Adam Garbie *Adam Rauscher, Advisor*

Director

10:13 // Bad Things, Middleborough High School (Boston/New England Chapter)

Dorothy Ferrigno Adam Pelletier, Advisor

Editor

The Wrecked and the Worried, Batavia High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter)

Joey Monty Jennifer Carpenter, Advisor

Photographer

Logan Reid, Christ Presbyterian Academy (Nashville/Mid-South Chapter)

Logan Reid Michael Ellson, Advisor

Talent - News or Sports

Ananya Gondesi Talent Reel, Metea Valley High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter)

Ananya Gontesi Nick Grijalva, Advisor

Talent - Performer

Project-182, Verrado High School (Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter)

Michael Myers Mike Walker, Advisor

Writer

Finding Waldo, Franklin High School (Nashville/Mid-South Chapter)

Ethan Whitfield Keri Thompson, Advisor

####