2014-15 Student Honors

Emerson College hosts the High School Awards for Excellence!

Students from several Boston-area high schools were honored for their television and journalism work in a ceremony June 18 in the Bordy Theater. (Courtesy Photo)

Emerson College hosted the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences’ (NATAS) Boston/New England Student Awards for Excellence. The event honored the TV and journalistic work of area high school students in the Bordy Theater on June 18.

Read the list of student award winners.

Award-winners hailed from Plymouth North High School, Plymouth South High School, Norwood High School, Canton High School, Nashoba Valley Technical High School, King Phillip High School, Hudson High School, Newton South High School, Middleborough High School, Westwood High School, and Millis High School.

The awards were presented by Danielle Mannion, NATAS governor and national education chair.

NATAS phones

Several attendees of the NATAS awards took photos with their smartphones. (Courtesy Photo)

Ro Dooley Webster of WCVB-TV and NATAS Boston/New England Chapter President congratulated the students, teachers, and family members. Jan Roberts-Breslin, professor and Emerson’s interim dean of Graduate Studies, welcomed attendees and discussed the value of higher education in preparation for careers in the media industry. Janet Kolodzy, journalism professor at Emerson College, and Michael Sale, Hollywood film and TV editor, delivered the keynote addresses.

Several members of Emerson’s Journalism Department and School of Communication were also on hand, including: Melinda Robins, associate professor and graduate program director; Douglas Struck, senior journalist-in-residence; Jonathan “Satch” Satriale, technology director for the School of Communication; Bianca Sedillos Jiron, MA ’16, administrative assistant; and students Angelina Salcedo ’17, Austin Wilder ’17, and Tyler Trudeau ‘16.
Congratulations to all of the Student Honorees!


NATAS is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and related media and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry, best known for the coveted Emmy® Award.