2016 National Student Awards



A Full List Of Winners https://emmyonline.com/student_production_awards_2016_winners

On Tuesday, October 4th, 2016, winners of the inaugural ceremony of The National Student Production Awards were announced in Washington D.C. by The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) in 23 programming and craft categories to student recipients from across the country.  The event was held before a studio audience of television professionals and live streamed through TNDV.com from The Newseum’s Knight TV Studios located between the U.S. Capitol and the White House on historic Pennsylvania Ave.

“The National Academy takes great pride in honoring all of these amazing students and expect great and extraordinary things from this promising new media savvy generation.” said, Chuck Dages, Chairman, NATAS

Over 200 young professionals, culled from 19 regional chapters of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, were successfully narrowed down from a record breaking 1,500 entries, by judges selected from industry professionals to university professors, to advance to the national competition.

NATAS Education Chair, Danielle Mannion, remarked, “We are very grateful to the hundreds of industry professionals who judged and critiqued these exceptional student productions. The high level of creativity and production value demonstrated in the work produced by the 2016 National Student Production Award recipients is impressive! It is clear that the future of the television industry will be exciting and innovative with these young leaders paving the way!”

Nominees were announced with pre-recorded messages from industry elite such as Alex Trebek, The hosts of “The Real,” Daphne Oz (“The Chew”), The hosts of “The Talk,” and Mario Lopez (“Extra”), Jennifer Duck (Producer/Anderson Cooper 360), Eric Notarnicola (Writer/Comedy Central), and more. The winners were presented with a NATAS certificate and a crystal pillar award, emblazoned with the world famous EMMY® logo for their school, by NATAS President, Bob Mauro.

.“John F Kennedy once said that our ‘Children are the world’s most valuable resource and its best hope for the future.’ The future of science, music, engineering, animation, and technology, all of which are required to insure the future of the television arts and entertainment,” said Mr. Mauro (President,  NATAS). Adding, “Today NATAS pays homage to nominees and winners alike for what they have already accomplished and in anticipation of the great things they will accomplish in the future,”

NATAS would like to thank and acknowledge their sponsors, Warner Chappell Production Music, Nic Duggar, owner of TNDV, and The Newseum and Newseum Institute

About the Newseum and Newseum Institute
The Newseum, and Newseum Institute (the program and initiatives partner of the Newseum), are headquartered in Washington, D.C., Together, they promote, explain and defend free expression and the five freedoms of the First Amendment: religion, speech, press, assembly and petition. Considered one of the most interactive museums in the world, the Newseum experience also traces the evolution of electronic communication from the birth of radio, to the technologies of the present and the future. The Newseum reaches millions of students through its robust offering of on-site classes and workshops that meet national standards of learning. The Newseum and the Newseum Institute regularly host compelling programs that seeks to generate solutions to some of the most pressing national and international challenges of the day. The Newseum’s board, staff, volunteers, donors and corporate partners are working together to make sure the freedoms of the First Amendment remain strong and protected, both today and for future generations. For more information visit: https://www.newseum.org/about/

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of over 15,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public. For more information, please visit www.emmyonline.tv.

NATAS Social Media:
NATAS Website: https://emmyonline.org/
NATAS Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheEmmys
NATAS/National Student Production Awards: https://www.facebook.com/NATASSPA
NATAS/Student Awards Twitter: @NatasSPA
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/natas_spa


NATAS Contact:
Paul G. Pillitteri / SVP, Communications

NATAS PR LA/Social Media Contacts:
B. Harlan Boll
Harlan@bhbpr.com or 626-296-3757
Lisa England

Danielle Mannion,
NATAS Education Chair
studentawards@emmyonline.tv or 978-793-3400